Academic Advising

UBC is a large university with many specialized programs, so academic advising is most effectively done within each academic faculty. Most faculties have their own academic advising offices to help students plan their course timetables and make sure they meet their program requirements. In addition, many faculties have specialized advisors who are available to work with Aboriginal students.

Are you a prospective student undecided about what faculty might be right for you? While there are many things you might come to UBC to study, you may want to have a look at some of the Aboriginal academic programs at UBC.

Below is information on advising for a selection of faculties and programs.


Applied Science (Engineering)

Mary Murphy
Director, Engineering Student Services
phone: 604-822-6556
email: mary.murphy@ubc.ca


Architecture

Trish Poehnell
Graduate Admissions, Architecture
phone: 604-822-2779
email: tpoehnel@interchange.ubc.ca

Landscape Architecture

Tara_Deans

Tara Deans
Student Services Coordinator
Tel: 604-822-3445
email: tdeans@sala.ubc.ca

environmental design: ends@interchange.ubc.ca
graduate landscape architecture:
larc@interchange.ubc.ca


Arts Faculty

Michael Wong
Academic Advisor
phone: 604-827-3060 fax: 604-822-4923
email: michael.wong@ubc.ca


Sauder School of Business

Sheila D Souza

Sheila D’Souza
Academic Advisor
Undergraduate Office
P: 604-827-3726
E: sheila.dsouza@sauder.ubc.ca

jennychan

Jenny Chan
Graduate Advisor
P: 604-822-6975
E: jenny.chan@ubc.ca


School of Community and Regional Planning

Patti Toporowski
Master’s Admissions & Records Grad Support
tel: 604-822-4422
email: ptop@interchange.ubc.ca


Continuing Studies

KarenRolston

Karen Rolston
Director
tel: 604-822-1435 fax: 604-822-0388
email: karen.rolston@ubc.ca


Dentistry

Sandra Fastlicht
Clinical Associate Professor
2nd Year DMD Academic Advisor
tel: 604-822-5739
email: sandrafa@interchage.ubc.ca


Education: Native Indian Teacher Education Program

Native Indian Teacher Education Program (NITEP)
Dr Jo-Ann Archibald: Professor, Education
Associate Dean of Indigenous Education
Director, NITEP
tel: 604-822 5240
email: jo-ann.archibald@ubc.ca

Education: Ts`’kel Graduate Studies in Education

MarkerMichael

Michael Marker
Associate Professor and Director, Ts`’kel.
phone: 604-822-6627
email: michael.marker@ubc.ca


Forestry

Andrea Lyall
First Nations Coordinator
p: 604-822-5294
email: andrea.lyall@ubc.ca


Faculty of Graduate Studies

Jenny Phelps, Coordinator for Aboriginal Graduate Students
phone: 604-822-2934, fax: 604-822-5802
email: jenny.phelps@ubc.ca


School of Human Kinetics

Fran Harrison
Undergraduate Advisor
phone: 604-822-4512, fax: 604-822-6842
email: frah@interchange.ubc.ca


Journalism (Graduate Program)

Barbara Wallin
Program Assistant
phone: 604-822-6688, 604-822-6707
email: journal@interchange.ubc.ca


Faculty of Land and Food Systems

Joel Liman

Joel Liman
Aboriginal Student Coordinator
Tel: 604-827-1570
email: joel.liman@ubc.ca


Law

DLM Headshot

Dana-Lyn Mackenzie
Associate Director, Indigenous Legal Studies
phone: 604-822-2177, fax: 604-822-9486
email: Mackenzie@law.ubc.ca


School of Library, Archival and Information Studies

Lisa Nathan
Assistant Professor
phone: 604-822-1574
email: lnathan@interchange.ubc.ca


Faculty of Medicine

James Andrew
Aboriginal Student Initiatives Coordinator
phone: 604-875-4111 ex. 68946
email: jrandrew@medd.med.ubc.ca


School of Music

Rayne Graham
Student Advisor
phone: 604-827-5502
email: music.advisor@ubc.ca


Nursing

The School of Nursing has several advisors for different programs. For more complete information, please see the


School of Population and Public Health

Dr. Chris Richardson
Assistant Professor, Acting Advisor
phone: 604-827-4023
email: chris.richardson@ubc.ca


Faculty of Science

Joel Liman

Joel Liman
Aboriginal Student Coordinator
Tel: 604-827-1570
email: joel.liman@ubc.ca


Social Work

contact: TBD
phone:
email:


Revised: October 23, 2014

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC  | © Copyright The University of British Columbia