Academic Advising

UBC is a large university with many specialized programs, so academic advising is most effectively done within each academic faculty. Most faculties have their own academic advising offices to help students plan their course timetables and make sure they meet their program requirements. In addition, many faculties have specialized advisors who are available to work with Aboriginal students.

Are you a prospective student undecided about what faculty might be right for you? While there are many things you might come to UBC to study, you may want to have a look at some of the Aboriginal academic programs at UBC.

Below is information on advising for a selection of faculties and programs.


Applied Science (Engineering)

Mary Murphy
Director, Engineering Student Services
phone: 604-822-6556
email: mary.murphy@ubc.ca


Architecture

Trish Poehnell
Architecture Student Services Coordinator
phone: 604-822-2779
email: ppoehnell@sala.ubc.ca

Landscape Architecture

Tara_Deans

Tara Deans
Student Services Coordinator
phone: 604-822-3445
email: tdeans@sala.ubc.ca


Arts Faculty

Michael Wong
Academic Advisor
phone: 604-827-3060 fax: 604-822-4923
email: michael.wong@ubc.ca


Audiology and Speech Sciences

Anthony Herdman
Associate Professor
phone: 604-827-4853
email: aherdman@audiospeech.ubc.ca


Sauder School of Business

Sheila D Souza

Sheila D’Souza
Academic Advisor
Undergraduate Office
phone: 604-827-3726
email: sheila.dsouza@sauder.ubc.ca

jennychan

Jenny Chan
Graduate Advisor
phone: 604-822-6975
email: jenny.chan@ubc.ca


School of Community and Regional Planning

Jeff Cook
Instructor, Indigenous Community Planning Practicum
Aboriginal Academic Advisor, Second-Year Master’s Level
phone: 604-822-4486
email: jeff.cook@ubc.ca


Continuing Studies

KarenRolston

Karen Rolston
Director
phone: 604-822-1435 fax: 604-822-0388
email: karen.rolston@ubc.ca


Dentistry

Sandra Fastlicht
Clinical Associate Professor
2nd Year DMD Academic Advisor
phone: 604-822-5739
email: sandrafa@interchage.ubc.ca


Education: Indigenous Teacher Education Program

Jessica La Rochelle
Assistant Director
NITEP, Faculty of Education
phone: 604-822-5465
email: jessica.larochelle@ubc.ca

Education: Ts`’kel Graduate Studies in Education

MarkerMichael

Michael Marker
Associate Professor and Director, Ts`’kel.
phone: 604-822-6627
email: michael.marker@ubc.ca


Forestry

Andrea Lyall
First Nations Coordinator
phone: 604-822-5294
email: andrea.lyall@ubc.ca


Faculty of Graduate Studies

Jenny Phelps, Coordinator for Aboriginal Graduate Students
phone: 604-822-2934, fax: 604-822-5802
email: jenny.phelps@ubc.ca


School of Kinesiology

Meghan Lamont
Associate Academic Advisor
phone: 604-822-4512, fax: 604-822-6842
email: meghan.lamont@ubc.ca

Journalism (Graduate Program)

Andrea Yan
Program Coordinator & Graduate Advisor
phone: 604-822-1513
email: andrea.yan@ubc.ca


Faculty of Land and Food Systems

Joel Liman

Joel Liman
Aboriginal Student Coordinator
phone: 604-827-1570
email: joel.liman@ubc.ca


Law

DLM Headshot

Dana-Lyn Mackenzie
Associate Director, Indigenous Legal Studies
phone: 604-822-2177, fax: 604-822-9486
email: Mackenzie@law.ubc.ca


School of Library, Archival and Information Studies

Lisa Nathan
Assistant Professor
phone: 604-822-1574
email: lnathan@interchange.ubc.ca


Faculty of Medicine

James Andrew
Aboriginal Student Initiatives Coordinator
phone: 604-875-4111 ex. 68946
email: james.andrew@ubc.ca


School of Music

Rayne Graham
Student Advisor
phone: 604-827-5502
email: music.advisor@ubc.ca


Nursing


Advising information for the School of Nursing is being updated. Please check back here soon.


School of Population and Public Health

Dr. Chris Richardson
Assistant Professor, Acting Advisor
phone: 604-827-4023
email: chris.richardson@ubc.ca


Faculty of Science

Joel Liman

Joel Liman
Aboriginal Student Coordinator
phone: 604-827-1570
email: joel.liman@ubc.ca


Social Work

Christine Graham
Program Advisor
phone: 604-822-4119
email: sowk.advisor@ubc.ca


Back to the Top

Revised: December 11, 2014

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

First Nations House of Learning
1985 West Mall,
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z2, CA
Tel: 604-822-8940
Email:

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC  | © Copyright The University of British Columbia